• Google Ads automated rules / bidding scripts for better performance

Google Ads automated rules / bidding scripts for better performance

Here are Google Ads automated rules (scripts) that we recommend to use for product campaigns by BlueWinston. These scripts can be used when you measure conversions and total transaction values in Google Ads from a connected Google Analytics account.  You can add these scripts here: Top menu > Tools > Rules. Usually, there are all BlueWinston campaigns with prefix BW. If your BlueWinston campaigns have any other prefix, use it instead of BW.

1. Choose Tools > Bulk actions > Rules > Keyword rules

2. Choose conditions for automatic rule

For BlueWinston DSA campaigns choose AdGroups.

We recommend using these automated rules

The first group of scripts is for increasing bids for keywords:

BW | Increase KWs maxCPC by +30% (higher ROAS) – maxCPC 1.20 €
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW”
– filter “Conversions more than 0”
– filter “maxCPC more than 0.01€”  //it is the same value for any other currency
– filter “Average position is worse than 1”
– filter “All Conv. Value / Cost is more than 5” – see note below this rule
=> DAILY using data from previous day

For DSA campaigns we recommend to use this automatic rule:

BW (DSA) | Increase AdGroups maxCPC by +30% (higher ROAS) – maxCPC 1.20 €
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW (DSA)”
– filter “Conversions more than 0”
– filter “maxCPC more than 0.01€”
– filter “Average position is worse than 1”
– filter “All Conv. Value / Cost is more than 5” – see note below this rule
=> DAILY using data from previous day

This automatic rule increase maxCPC for keywords (AdGroups in DSA) that have higher ROAS. Metric ROAS is All conversion value / cost. If you have margin (maxCPA) 20%, your ROAS is 100/20 = 5, so you can see that ROAS value depends on your maxCPA. Keywords above this value are your best performing keywords. If you have maxCPA 10%, your ROAS is 10, for maxCPA 8% it is 12.5 etc.

For all keywords with status Below the first-page bid you can use these 2 automatic rules:

BW | Increase KWs maxCPC by +50% (Impresssions > 0, below first page) – maxCPC 1.20 €
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW”
– filter “maxCPC more than 0.01€”
– filter “Status is below first page”
– filter “Conversions less than 0.01”
– filter “Impressions more/equal 1”
– filter “Avg. position > than 1”
=> weekly using data from last 7 days

BW | Increase KWs maxCPC by +5% (Impressions = 0, below first page) – maxCPC 1.20 €
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW”
– filter “maxCPC more than 0.01€”
– filter “Status is below first page”
– filter “Conversions less than 0.01”
– filter “Impressions equal 0″
=> DAILY using data from last 90 days

If any of your keywords have a status Below the first-page bid, usually they are not shown on Google’s first page results. It is very important to slightly increase bids to achieve the first page.

You can automatically increase bids for best quality score keywords by this rule:

BW | Increase KWs maxCPC by +10% (Quality Score 7-10/10) – maxCPC 1.20 €
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW”
– filter “maxCPC more than 0.01€”
– filter “Average position is > than 1″
– filter “Status is Eligible”                   //only Eligible, do not choose Eligible:Limited or others
– filter “Conversions less than 0.01”
– filter “CTR is less than 5”
– filter “Quality Score is more/equal 7″
=> weekly using data from last 7 days

The quality score is evaluation from Google Ads. The value consists of ad quality, CTR, keyword, and landing page. Best keywords have a quality score above 7.

When keywords (adgroups in DSA-P) have a low impression share:

BW | Increase KWs maxCPC by +50% (Low Impression Share) – maxCPC 1.20 €
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW”
– filter “maxCPC more than 0.01€”
– filter “Status is Eligible”
– filter “Conversions less than 0.01”
– filter “Search Impr. Share less than 90%”
– filter “Average position > 1”
=> weekly using data from last 7 days

BW (DSA) | Increase AdGroups maxCPC by +50% (Low Impression Share) – maxCPC 1.20 €
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW (DSA)”
– filter “maxCPC more than 0.01€”
– filter “Status is Eligible”
– filter “Conversions less than 0.01”
– filter “Search Impr. Share less than 90%”
– filter “Average position > 1”
=> weekly using data from last 7 days

To automatically increase budget of Campaigns if limited by budget

BW | Increase Campaign’s budget by +10% (Limited Status) max budget 100€  //set up your max budget in your currency
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW”
– filter “Status matches Limited by budget”
=> weekly using data from last 7 days

With this script, you can automatically increase budget by +10% when your campaigns are limited by budget.

Also decreasing bids is very important. Here are the most common cases when to decrease bids:

BW | Decrease KWs maxCPC by -100% (low Quality Score 0-4/10)
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW”
– filter “maxCPC more than 0.01€”
– filter “Conversions less than 0.01”
– filter “CTR is less than 3”
– filter “Clicks more/equal than 5”
– filter “Quality Score is less / equal than 4
=> DAILY using data from last 90 days

BW | Decrease KWs maxCPC by -100% (low CTR)
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW”
– filter “Clicks more than 7”
– filter “Conversions less than 0.01″
– filter “maxCPC more than 0.01€”
– filter “Average position is < 3”
– filter “CTR is less than 2”
– filter “Status is eligible”
=> DAILY using data from last 90 days

This script is applicable only to product campaigns with keywords, not for DSA campaigns. Only keywords have a Quality score, not AdGroups.

These rules can be modified for DSA campaigns:

BW | Decrease KWs maxCPC by -100% (too many clicks)
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW”
– filter “Clicks more than 20”
– filter “Conversions less than 0.01”
– filter “maxCPC more than 0.01€”
=> DAILY using data from last 90 days

BW | Decrease KWs maxCPC by -100% (High Bounce Rate)
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW”
– filter “Clicks more than 7”
– filter “Conversions less than 0.01”
– filter “maxCPC more than 0.01€”
– filter “BounceRate is more than 89″
=> DAILY using data from last 90 days

BW (DSA) | Decrease AdGroups maxCPC
by -100% (low CTR)

– filter “Campaign name contains “BW (DSA)”
– filter “Clicks more than 7”
– filter “Conversions less than 0.01”
– filter “ default maxCPC more than 0.01€”
– filter “Average position is < 3” – filter “CTR is less than 2” – filter “Status is eligible” //only Eligible, no other status
=> DAILY using data from last 90 days

BW | Decrease AdGroups maxCPC
by -100% (High Bounce Rate)
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW (DSA)”
– filter “Clicks more than 7”
– filter “Conversions less than 0.01”
– filter “maxCPC more than 0.01€”
– filter “BounceRate is more than 89″
=> DAILY using data from last 90 days

For BlueWinston DSA campaigns use this:

BW (DSA) | Decrease AdGroups maxCPC by -100% (too many clicks)
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW (DSA)”
– filter “Clicks more than 20”
– filter “Conversions less than 0.01”
– filter “ default maxCPC more than 0.01€”
=> DAILY using data from last 90 days

For some keywords can be low ROAS. To decrease bids use these rules:

BW | Decrease KWs maxCPC by -20% (low ROAS)
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW”
– filter “Conversions more than 0”
– filter “maxCPC more than 0.01€”
– filter “All Conv. Value / Cost is less than 7”   //use value 7 if your maxCPA is 14%. For maxCPA 20% use value 5 etc.
=> weekly using data from last 7 days

BW (DSA) | Decrease AdGroups maxCPC by -20% (low ROAS)
– filter “Campaign name contains “BW (DSA)”
– filter “Conversions more than 0”
– filter “maxCPC more than 0.01€”
– filter “All Conv. Value / Cost is less than 7”   //use value 7 if your maxCPA is 14%. For maxCPA 20% use value 5.
=> weekly using data from last 7 days

This can be used as a variant for DSA campaigns.

These automated rules (scripts) we recommend to use for all types of BlueWinston product campaigns. You can add them to Google Ads account by yourself or ask us to add them.

About the Author:

Martin Jančo
Account manager of Bluewinston & CCS Shopping in EU ( I'm the guy responsible for the most effective PPC tool to create product text and Smart Shopping campaigns for Google Search.